Municipalité de Saint-Augustin de Woburn 590, rue St-Augustin, Saint-Augustin-de-Woburn (Québec) G0Y 1R0
Tél.: 819 544-4211
Téléc.: 819 544-9236
Courriel : firstname.lastname@example.org
Site Internet: www.chez.com/woburn
The foundation of Saint-Augustin-de-Woburn began in 1880. Under the push for Francophone colonization, the French of Bretagne and Vendée established themselves in Woburn Township, at the centre of the Channay colony. On the recommendation of Bishop Antoine Racine of the Sherbrooke Diocese and president of the Société de Colonisation de la Cité de Sherbrooke, they built a mission and parish, which was christened in 1898 with its current name to honour both a patron saint and a benefactor, Lady Augustine Duval. Located south of Lake Megantic and east of Notre-Dame-des-Bois, the municipality is one of the entry points to the United States. It was established in a wooded area at the foot of Mount Gosford, an 1193-metre peak which adds to the town’s unique character. As well as working at three sawmills and an ultra-modern wood processing plant, residents of Woburn enjoy zec Louise-Gosford and the Forêt Habitée du Mont Gosford.